NEBRASKA STATE RACING COMMISSION MINUTES OF EMERGENCY MEETING VIA CONFERENCE CALL

DATE: March 19, 2020

TIME: 8:15 pm

LOCATION: Conference Call Only

PRESENT COMMISSIONERS: ABSENT:

Dennis P. Lee Chairman
Janell Beveridge Commissioner
Jeffrey Galyen Commissioner
Helen Abbott Feller Commissioner
Shane Greckel Commissioner

Chm. Lee convened the meeting at 8:25 pm via conference call in compliance with the provision of Neb. Rev. Stat. 84-1411(5). All statutory requirements have been met with respect to emergency meetings. In addition, copies of such notice were sent to those on the Racing Commission agenda mailing list which also included two members of the media, members of the public and also employees of racing associations.

DISCUSSION - EFFORTS OF THE LICENSE ASSOCIATION IN DEALING WITH COVID-19

Each association stated their procedures for their facility. Please see the Associations website for further information.

FONNER PARK - REQUEST TO MOVE LIVE RACE DAYS

Chm. Lee moved seconded by Beveridge to temporarily modify the live race days of Fonner Park from Friday, Saturday and Sunday to Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday beginning March 23, 2020 with a post time of 3:30 pm. This is for a two week trial with no spectators with patrons being limited to 10. Voting aye: Lee, Beveridge, Feller, Galyen and Greckel. Motion carried.

RACING COMMISSION EXPENSES

Fonner Park and the HBPA agreed to share the Racing Commission's expenses during this live racing two week trial. Director Sage explained his efforts of working with the Governor's office to create a separate fund to receive and disburse transactions during this time. The Racing Commission's revenue is limited due to having no spectator's present.

ADVANCE PERFORMANCE WAGERING

Beveridge moved, seconded by Greckel to authorize advance performance wagering after scratch time for all racing associations in the State of Nebraska in accordance with NSRC Rule 23.001.05. Voting aye: Lee, Beveridge, Feller, Galyen and Greckel. Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

Chm. Lee moved to adjourn at 9:49 pm. Voting aye: Lee, Beveridge, Feller, Galyen and Greckel. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Tom Sage Executive Secretary